HB17-1226 - Make Daylight Saving Time Year-round Standard Time

Postponed Indefinitely
Concerning the designation of daylight saving time as the standard year-round time within the state.

Currently, 'United States Mountain Standard Time' (MST) is the standard time within Colorado, except during the annual period of 'daylight saving time' (the second Sunday in March through the first Sunday in November), during which MST is advanced one hour. The bill makes daylight saving time the year-round standard time within the state, but takes effect only:


  • If approved by Colorado voters in the November 2018 general election; and
  • When the other states wholly or partially in the Mountain time zone also adopt permanent daylight saving time for the states or portions thereof within that time zone.
    (Note: This summary applies to this bill as introduced.)


Latest update: March 13, 2017
03/13/2017 - House Committee on Agriculture, Livestock, & Natural Resources Postpone Indefinitely
03/06/2017 - Introduced In House - Assigned to Agriculture, Livestock, & Natural Resources